Why we were formed:

In 1986, a group of concerned citizens, convened by then Governor Richard Lamm, recognized that Colorado's abundant and diverse wildlife makes an immense contribution to the quality of life we enjoy in the state, and to its economy. At the same time, they recognized that wilderness habitats face the greatest threats from development and that state funds for preserving wildlife, which have historically come from hunting and fishing license fees, had declined.


Recognizing that future public funding would probably be insufficient to sustain and manage the state's wildlife, the group made a series of recommendations aimed at preserving wildlife across Colorado into the 21st century and beyond. Among those suggestions was the creation of a foundation whose purpose would be collecting and disbursing funds to benefit wildlife. Thus, in 1989 the Colorado Wildlife Heritage Foundation was formed to work in cooperation with state and federal agencies, nonprofit organizations, multinational corporations, and the public to provide funding and resource support services for wildlife and habitat conservation projects statewide.


CWHF acts as a resource for those in search of funds for their wildlife benefiting projects, or for those who wish to donate to one.


We support all 960 wildlife species and the habitats they need to survive in Colorado.


Through our many partnerships, we have the ability to leverage the necessary resources to make a difference for wildlife.


Our continued belief is that we must protect our unique wildlife heritage through a balanced approach; integrating the needs of wildlife, the people, and the businesses of Colorado to ensure a rich wildlife legacy and strong economy for those who call Colorado home now and for the generations to come. 

Board of Directors

The Foundation is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors that bring a broad range of skills and knowledge to the organization.  All board members have a strong and demonstrated commitment to Colorado's wildlife heritage.


William Wall III, Denver, CO, President

Steven Deitemeyer, Wheat Ridge, CO, Vice President

John Cogswell Esq, Buena Vista, CO, 

Jay Cogswell, Littleton, CO

Randy Lortscher, Denver, CO 

Rob Manning III, Denver, CO